A place to talk about CG particles...
login.php?sid=50bfa14333e2525dc7e8cad1e1be2797 profile.php?mode=register&sid=50bfa14333e2525dc7e8cad1e1be2797 faq.php?sid=50bfa14333e2525dc7e8cad1e1be2797 memberlist.php?sid=50bfa14333e2525dc7e8cad1e1be2797 search.php?sid=50bfa14333e2525dc7e8cad1e1be2797 index.php?sid=50bfa14333e2525dc7e8cad1e1be2797

Orbaz Technologies Forum Index » Particle Flow Tools: Box#3 Barter Hall » Surface Spread
Post new topic  Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic 
Surface Spread
PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2007 7:23 pm Reply with quote
Oleg
Site Admin
Joined: 26 Sep 2004
Posts: 5701
Location: The Hundredth Town, USA




Surface Spread data preset operator creates spawning process restricted to a reference geometry surface.

The overall idea is quite simple.

A particle has 4 children spawn in 2 bursts (one pair + another pair).

In the first spawn burst 2 children are thrown forward and backward in the local space of the parent particle. Then the children are restricted to the closest point of the reference geometry. Then there is a prune process where the children in the close proximity of the older particles are deleted.

In the second spawn burst 2 children are thrown sideways in the local space of the parent particle. The sideway angle is adjustable - in the example above it's 90 degrees. Again, they are restricted to the reference geometry and the same pruning process is applied.

You can modify the original Surface Spread preset with an additional flavor of controlling the spawning delay by a grayscale material.



You can download the preset here: SurfaceSpreadPreset.zip (13KB - it requires Box#3 Pro v.1.07). Unzip the preset (*.pfp file - Particle Flow Preset) to folder plugcfg\Particle Flow Data Presets or your localized presets folder if you are using 3ds Max 9 and above. The operator is data preset type; so you have to use Data Preset operator to plant the operator in your scene:



Here's an example scene ( max8 ) to play with - SpreadOnSurfaceExample.zip (33KB)

An example animation: SpreadSq2.avi (1MB)



Another animation: SpreadWave.avi (2.9MB)



Please feel free to use the data preset operator in your projects and drop a line with your questions and/or comments in this topic.


With the kindest regards,

________________ Oleg Bayborodin


Copyright 2007 © Orbaz Technologies, Inc.
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2007 6:34 am Reply with quote
PsychoSilence
Joined: 25 Sep 2005
Posts: 1507
Location: New Orleans




amazing!

thanks for sharing this great preset. long expected Smile

kind regards,
anselm

_________________
www.3Delicious.com || Don´t mess with Reindeer Flotilla!
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number
PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2007 10:07 am Reply with quote
VinceFX
Joined: 26 May 2007
Posts: 11




Hi,
Im a really new user of particle Box.
Ive just seen your video and its amazing your effect.
Ive download your max scene, but when I go on frame3, my max freeze, is it normal? My computer is not strong enough?


I hope you understand my english Embarassed
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2007 10:23 am Reply with quote
Oleg
Site Admin
Joined: 26 Sep 2004
Posts: 5701
Location: The Hundredth Town, USA




The Surface Spread preset requires version 1.07 of Box#3 - it was mentioned in the original message. Most likely you are using the demo version of Box#3 that is based on 1.0 build - it is not possible to use the Surface Spread preset with the demo version.

Thanks,
Oleg B.

_________________
The Particles Caregiver
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2007 10:50 am Reply with quote
VinceFX
Joined: 26 May 2007
Posts: 11




well, I have the 1.03 Sad its too low Rolling Eyes ?

But Ive just understand that I have to take also your preset. I put it in my
"plugcfg\Particle Flow Data Presets " (but Im on max9, and you said maybe its another floder..i dont know which one Embarassed )

Now when I open your scene, and hit play, its not crashing anymore Razz .
I can play the animation, but there is no particle.

I've opened the Particle View. Add a "data preset", but the list is empty. So I guess the "plugcfg\Particle Flow Data Presets " is not my correct folder? What is the default folder in max9? Or maybe its just because Ive only the 1.03 version....

Thanks for your help.
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2007 10:58 am Reply with quote
Oleg
Site Admin
Joined: 26 Sep 2004
Posts: 5701
Location: The Hundredth Town, USA




Quote:
well, I have the 1.03

The 1.07 version number was mentioned for a reason Smile

Thanks,
Oleg B.

_________________
The Particles Caregiver
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
problems using this
PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2009 4:03 pm Reply with quote
msmith
Joined: 27 Feb 2009
Posts: 11




I am very new to Box 3 and this looked like a very interesting preset to try. I am using version 1.08. I put the file in the correct folder alongside the other presets that came with Box3, but it does not show up when I open Max and try to use it. What am I missing?
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2009 4:32 pm Reply with quote
Oleg
Site Admin
Joined: 26 Sep 2004
Posts: 5701
Location: The Hundredth Town, USA




You need to check what's the right location of the folder for presets. The sure way is to create your own very simple preset with a special name, and then make a search of the hard drive for this filename. That will pin-point the proper location that Box#3 and 3ds Max use for preset storage - it can be different on different systems, and may depend on your OS.

Thanks,
Oleg B.

_________________
The Particles Caregiver
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Thank you!
PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2009 10:57 am Reply with quote
msmith
Joined: 27 Feb 2009
Posts: 11




Thanks for the quick reply, that solved my problem. I had thought it would be in the same location that I installed the program, but this turned out not to be the case... this preset is amazing!! I am looking forward to using it more
View user's profile Send private message
Hi Orbaz Community.
PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 3:00 pm Reply with quote
nickolay411
Joined: 12 Jan 2009
Posts: 296
Location: LA




I'm using surface spread operator along a surface. I am trying to wire the preset to use a selected face on the objects surface. I am changing the Point Position to a face selection but it doesn't seem to be working. Has anyone else tried this?

Thanks,

Heka
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
PostPosted: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:02 pm Reply with quote
phiZikl
Joined: 22 Sep 2009
Posts: 202
Location: EARTH




really nice operator@@@ thanks for sharing!
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address MSN Messenger ICQ Number
PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2012 6:24 am Reply with quote
omidanimate
Joined: 04 Apr 2010
Posts: 2




Nice Operator
But I am trying to Use Scale Operator In Each Particle, But I Not Good Result
Can I Spread On Surface Smoothly And Soft Birth.??????
Thanks
View user's profile Send private message
Surface Spread
Orbaz Technologies Forum Index » Particle Flow Tools: Box#3 Barter Hall
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
All times are GMT - 5 Hours  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Post new topic  Reply to topic  


Copyright© 2004-2005 Orbaz Technologies, Inc. All rights reserved.
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
phpBB Style by Vjacheslav Trushkin